'Whoosh' sound when accelerating/changing gear?

New to the Nissan Pulsar Forums? Introduce yourself here
RPJ

Post by RPJ »

Re: Nissan Pulsar 1.2 DiG-T Visia

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and would be grateful if I could ask a question please, which is a technical one. Last week I bought a Pulsar to replace my trusty 2003 Almera which had served me well, and to date I have been very pleased with my Pulsar. Although there has been one thing which has been bugging me for the last week or so and I would like to know the answer, if only to put my mind at rest.

When I change up through the gears, mainly from third to fifth and sometimes into sixth gear, the car makes a noise, which I can only describe as a ‘whoosh’ sound. I'm no expert and it only appears to happens in the higher gears when I’m accelerating. I hear it when I push in the clutch pedal to change gear. I think it’s the clutch but it could also be coming from the engine compartment, sorry not to be clear. It sounds like a release of pressure and being as I believe the car has a turbo I was wondering if it could be related to that?

Anyway, I was hoping that someone could confirm that this noise is ‘normal’ and that I have nothing to worry about it. As long as I know it’s meant to make this sound I can then hopefully ignore it and get used to the sound over time.

Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.

uamade

Post by uamade »

Hello RPJ,

Welcome on the board :). Personally I have CVT Xtronic gearbox so I can't really comment on the sound you are describing. However I was testing a manual version of Pulsar and I do not remember any whoosh sounds especially when pressing on clutch.

Maybe you are mistakenly thinking that the sound of turbo is the whoosh sound? It sounds in a special way when accelerating, but it should not be linked to clutch pedal in any way.